Dispatches From the Basement
Audio Dispatches From the Basement
Dispatch #63
17
0:00
-1:19

Dispatch #63

Intercession
17
Intercession

What’s real 
remains blurred 
until we say 
its name. Lord,
keep me tethered. 
Grief burns 
in my throat, but 
morning slants 
into a new season.
Pear trees 
flower along 
both sides of 
the street 
and flex 
with wind,
off-white 
and pixelated 
like lungs 
breathing memory
or a frame
from a dream
dissolving
before a shock of 
forsythia spikes
the landscape yellow.
The colors flood
through me,
what’s left of me
in the sudden 
absence of thought.
Call it happiness.
Call it the center 
of a prayer.
What’s left of me
when the images 
pour in
like a chant
or a charm
and scatter
into the seamless. 
To see 
by means 
of the unseen.
Lord, keep me 
tethered
to meaning: 
Your silence
where all things 
are holy. 
All things 
vibrating with 
light, April 
light. Light
with no winter
left in it. Light
of no other hour.


17 Comments
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Joseph Massey
Recent Episodes
0:33